Skip to content

Alicia’s Easy Holiday Pork Tenderloin

December 1, 2010

Alicia’s Easy Holiday Pork Tenderloin

It’s the Holidays, so obviously it’s the season for big meals! For Thanksgiving I decided to do something a little different. This dish is a great alternative to a Christmas ham or turkey. Sometimes, you just want something else!

Marc and I had had our turkey at a Thanksgiving Day party, and we’ve always wanted to try pork tenderloin at home. This is a very simple but flavorful dish that feeds about 4. Enjoy!

Pork in a crockpot.

What you will need:
1 large crock pot
1 thawed pork tenderloin (1.5-2 lbs)
1 medium onion chopped into 4
1 and ½ cups of your favorite red wine (I used cabernet sauvignon)
¼ of a cup of brown sugar
1/3 of a package of McCormick Slow Cookers BBQ Pulled Pork Seasoning

Place the tenderloin in the crock pot. Set each piece of the onion evenly against the sides of the pork. Combine the brown sugar and seasoning in a mixing bowl with the wine. After it has been mixed thoroughly, pour it into the crock pot over the pork. Set the crock pot on high and cook for two hours. During this time, I keep a large serving spoon next to the crock pot so I can periodically “baste” the pork with the sauce/juices sitting in the crock pot.

After about 2 hours of cooking on high, cook for at least another 2 hours on low. I decided to be generous on the side dishes since it was Thanksgiving, so I decided on julienne carrots, zucchini and yellow squash roasted in light olive oil, roasted potatoes, and some quick Kraft Stove Top cornbread stuffing. I know, (GASP), I didn’t make the stuffing from scratch but that’s why this dish is called “EASY Holiday Pork Tenderloin”! The stuffing isn’t pictured because at the time it must have still been on the stove.

Just a few notes: this was my very first pork tenderloin so I decided to leave the actual seasoning to the experts. I’m sure many of you out there are confident enough to come up with your own seasoning creations! The wine and the brown sugar gave the pork sweetness while the seasoning provided that kick of BBQ tang. A perfect combo if you ask me.

The leftover pork is amazing as a sandwich on a nice roll the next day. With that said, maybe go light on the portions, save room for dessert and have a piece of pumpkin pie so you can have leftovers! Happy Holidays!

A plate of pork!

One Comment
  1. Just wanted you to know that The Bluffton Icon today added your blog to our website. Some of you may know me. I think you blog if great. I hope that The Icon can increase your daily hits. We get about 500 views per day.

    Thanks!
    Fred and Mary Pannabecker Steiner
    http://www.blufftonicon.com

Leave a Reply

