Skip to content

Dinner Chowder

November 23, 2010

Chopped veggies!

I’m a sucker for cream soups. I know they are not very healthy, but I long for creamy, cheesy goodness, especially in the winter. I don’t know where this recipe for Dinner Chowder came from originally but my mother got it from a friend of hers when I was a child. I love the unique addition of tomato juice or tomatoes to an ordinary cheesy potato soup. I probably would like the canned tomatoes best, but my dear husband won’t touch anything that looks like tomato, so I usually use juice.
This is by far my favorite potato soup recipe.

Dinner Chowder

2 cups raw potatoes, diced
¾ cup chopped onions
½ cup diced celery
2 tsp salt (you can half this, or mostly leave it out if you want. I forgot to add it this time and just sprinkled some salt in halfway through cooking. It didn’t make a huge difference)
2 ½ cups boiling water
4 Tbsp butter
¼ cup flour
¼ tsp pepper
½ Tbsp dry mustard
1 ½ Tbsp ketchup
2 cups milk
1 cup to ½ lbs sharp cheddar or Velveeta
1 cup canned tomatoes or tomato juice
1 Tbsp parsley

Chop up all the veggies. My mother peeled the potatoes, but I don’t because I’m lazy and I think it makes the soup just tiny bit more healthy. Put the veggies and salt, if you want it, in a 3qt sauce pan. Pour the boiling water over them. I don’t know for sure why the water needs to be boiling to start, but I always follow the recipe. Bring to boil and cook the veggies until tender.

Soup's on the stove

Meanwhile, melt the butter in another pan and make a roux with the flour, pepper and dry mustard. When the butter is melted, whisk in the roux and add the ketchup. Then slowly pour in the milk and stir it while it thickens. I let it get pretty thick because you’re going to be adding it to the vegetables and then also added tomato juice to it. And I love really thick cream soups. Anyway, once it’s as thick as you’d like, melt the cheese into it.

When the veggies are cooked add the cheese sauce to the veggies, then stir in the tomatoes or juice and the parsley.

This is a really hearty soup so you don’t need much else with it, except maybe a salad. Enjoy!

A beautiful soup

From → Laura's Recipes!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

