Skip to content

Rachael’s Goin’ to Las Vegas Soup

November 8, 2010

Something good is simmering...

This meal is one of our favorites. I invented it after we found black beluga lentils at Trader Joe’s. The best thing about this soups is that it is incredibly easy and it is also very manipulatable. I’ve added rice, green pepper, and various other things. However, we seem to like it best in its original form. I made this batch last week before I left for my trip to Las Vegas, and I froze it for my husband.
1 onion
3 cloves of garlic
2 containers of tomato sauce
2 tomato sauce containers of water
3 packages of black beluga lentils
Handful of tomatoes, chopped
1.5 packages of fresh baby spinach
salt and pepper to taste
1. Chop the onion and garlic and saute in olive oil until onions are translucent.
2. Add tomato sauce, water, lentils, and tomatoes. Cook until boiling
3. Add spinach to soup, cook until spinach has wilted.

A delicious winter soup!

One Comment
  1. Abby permalink

    This looks so good! I can’t wait to try it. I love the colors, I don’t eat enough colors in my diet! Thanks for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

