Skip to content

Alicia’s Chicken Vesuvio

November 3, 2010

Alicia’s Chicken Vesuvio

Boiling potatoes...yum yum!


Hello to all the Foodies out there!
Today I would like to showcase a great dish for those who love chicken, potatoes, and Italian food but are short on time and ingredients.
Traditional Chicken Vesuvio is usually made from chicken still on the bone, potato wedges, and peas. When you’re at your favorite Italian restaurant and you order this dish, you will in most cases see bones. Chicken on the bone kind of intimidates me, as I’m not great with bone-picking. I will usually leave a lot on the bones as well, because it’s too much work to pick everything off! I also feel like boneless, skinless chicken breasts are much easier to portion out for the calorie-conscious eaters!
I decided to make a leaner, more veggie-dense version of this Italian favorite. I also hate peas, so I left them out!

What you will need for Alicia’s Healthier Chicken Vesuvio (serves 2):
-2 Perdue Perfect Portion boneless skinless chicken breasts
-2 medium Idaho potatoes
-2 Cups of chopped vegetables (I use portabella mushrooms, zucchini, carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower)
-¼ of a small onion
-Minced garlic or garlic power
-Your choice of Italian seasonings (oregano, basil)
-Bertolli Extra Light Tasting Olive Oil
-Pam Olive Oil cooking spray
-Salt and pepper to taste
-1 tsp of butter

Usually I bake the chicken breasts in a small glass casserole dish for about an hour if they’re not pre-thawed, turning over once halfway through. If the chicken is already thawed it will probably only need 35 minutes in a pre-heated oven at 350 degrees. For the preparation, line the dish with Pam cooking spray, add the chicken and lightly dust it with the garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Add enough olive oil to lightly coat both pieces of chicken (about 3 Tsp). I’m not being very specific here because most of the seasoning and preparation involves how much garlic or pepper you like, etc.

Looks goooooood!


Tonight I actually had to pan fry the chicken because I’ve been having oven issues as of late! For pan frying, simply spray the Pam on a skillet large enough to hold your chicken breasts. Place the chicken in the pan, season them as they cook. I usually add a bit of oil and seasoning, let them cook for about 5-10 minutes, then add more and cook them until they’re brown. I prefer to cook longer on lower heat.
For the potato preparation, finely chop ¼ of a small to medium onion. Cut the potatoes into bite-sized pieces. I usually leave the skin on for added flavor. Boil them in a pot of water for about 10 minutes to soften them up. Drain the potatoes in a pasta strainer, and then combine them with the onions in another skillet or pan with 1 tsp of olive oil. Add the salt, pepper, garlic powder/minced garlic, and Italian seasoning while stirring. Sometimes I will use crushed red pepper seasoning to give those ‘taters a small kick!

Chop your vegetables and steam them in a small pot with an inch of water, lid on, for about 5-10 minutes, depending on how soft you like them. I do not like my vegetables too al dente so I will cook mine longer. Drain the vegetables, keep them in the pot, and add the butter, salt and pepper to taste.

Just a tip: Use as little butter as possible, as this is a LIGHT dish! Enjoy! This dish will be under 500 calories per serving if you cool it on the olive oil and butter.

The final spread

One Comment
  1. Yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

